Winter Moves

13 Dec

It’s cold outside, but the Hot Stove is still burning…

As exciting as the Winter can be, I like to find time to myself during the off-season, and step away from the blogs and enjoy some of it as a fan, so for those of you who have reached out to me – Rest assured I’m not going anywhere.

***

I’m excited by the move to sign Dontrelle Willis.  D-Train is not exactly the pitcher that he used to be, but he will be really servicible out of the bullpen provided that he continues to dominate left-handed hitters.  Last season Dontrelle but held lefties to a .127 average with Cincinnati.

I wouldn’t expect him to start any games (unless there is an injury to a starter) because of his high walk rate, and his struggles with right-handed hitters.  This is a low-risk/high reward move, and I like it.  Dontrelle is an energetic character and a good clubhouse guy, not to mention a good buddy of one Jimmy Rollins.  Philadelphia is a good place for D-Train.  He is surrounded by plenty of A list pitchers, and he knows that he isn’t competing for a starting spot.

For a $1MM I think that Ruben found himself a pretty serviceable lefty for the pen.

Keep up with me on Twitter… 

Leave a comment