Way to Go Joe!

13 Apr

Everyone of the stupid trade ideas I saw this Winter involved Joe Blanton in some regard.  I just don’t get it, what do people have against him?

As for Thursday night?  Joe was fantastic. Blanton pitched seven strong innings (and probably could have gone more) while allowing just one run.  He was the beneficiary of great defense, and had command of all his pitches.

Given what the Phillies may face this year, it will be nice to see this as a regular thing for Blanton.

Chad Qualls and Jonathan Papelbon both threw scoreless innings notching a hold, and a save respectively.

I’m really enjoying the emergence of Freddy Galvis.  I had a friend text me on Wednesday night right before Galvis stroked that double telling me that he couldn’t stand him… I said “You’ll grow to love him.”

Freddy may not hit for power like Utley, but his defense is spectacular.   Truthfully, I don’t care if Michael Martinez ever comes back.

Maybe we have our own Jeremy Lin.

The Phillies may have eased the minds of fans for the time being, registering eight more hits.

Shane Victorino, and Ty Wigginton both went deep for the Phillies with solo homers.  Wigginton’s homer was a blast.   It marked the 7th different team he has homered for.

Anyways… Just nice to see the Phillies get a series win from a division rival, and get to .500.

The Phillies are at home this weekend to take on the Mets.  Friday will see Cliff Lee facing R.A. Dickey.   We all know how well the Phillies do against knuckleballers, so let’s hope that Lee can do his thing, and keep the Phils in the game. Dickey is 2-3 with a 2.61 ERA vs the Phillies.

Keep up with me on Facebook, and Twitter, and soon my App will be available in the iTunes store.

 

3 Responses to “Way to Go Joe!”

  1. Displaced Phan April 13, 2012 at 6:55 am #

    I agree with you about Martinez. I hope he never makes it up. Maybe in September. He’s just not very good and Charlie thinks he’s wonderful for some reason.

    • Phanatic Addict April 13, 2012 at 8:46 am #

      Martinez is versatile, and that’s what Charlie likes about him. He plays everything up the middle. Second, short, and center, so he can be used to rest a lot of guys, which is going to become an issue at some point.

      • Displaced Phan April 13, 2012 at 9:27 am #

        Yes, but his main problem is that he’s a bum.

Leave a comment