Victorino: “I Want to Be Here.”

28 Feb

Photo: Getty Images

There has been little talk about Shane Victorino‘s contract status with all of the hype surrounding Cole Hamels’ impending free agency, but not a whole lot has been said about what’s going to happen with Victorino.

Just thought that you might like to see an exerpt from Jayson Stark’s latest piece on ESPN.com that contains a tibit on Shane…

Cole Hamels isn’t the only household name in Philadelphia who’s a year away from free agency. Let’s not forget Shane Victorino. According to FanGraphs, only one center fielder in the National League was worth more wins above replacement than Victorino (5.9) last season: Matt Kemp (8.7).

So Victorino could find a healthy market next offseason if he makes it to free agency. But will he? After arriving in camp last week, he told MLB.com’s Todd Zolecki: “I don’t plan on going anywhere.”

I envisioned his agents, Seth and Sam Levinson, heading straight for the emergency room the second they read that quote. So I asked Victorino if he meant that quote the way it sounded. Was it so important to him to remain a Phillie that he’d stay at just about any price?

“What that statement was saying,” he said, “was that I’m willing to give up free agency. A lot of guys won’t. In the game of baseball, free agency is what every major league player dreams of. You want to maximize your value, and of course I do, too. But what’s important to me is, I want to be here. I love playing here. My family loves the city. I love the city. So when I made that statement, that’s what I meant.”

Has an impending free agent ever let a club know he’d take a hometown discount more clearly than that? Next thing you know, he’ll rent a billboard.

Ok… Wow. I’m sure people are going to start talking about this one today.

Keep up with me on Facebook, and Twitter.

8 Responses to “Victorino: “I Want to Be Here.””

  1. mlblogsbarbward February 29, 2012 at 11:21 am #

    Wow! If that’s what he really means, then, my admiration for Victorino went sky high. Let’s hope he stays. I don’t see him going anywhere. Fingers crossed!

    • Phanatic Addict February 29, 2012 at 11:30 am #

      Yeah, we’ll see. From a negotiation standpoint it was a really stupid thing to say, but I like it.

      Mike

  2. mlblogsbarbward February 29, 2012 at 11:42 am #

    Is it stupid or is it the most boldest move and stance that any player can make? We shall see. Seems to me he’s saying that being part of the Phillies organization is more important to him than money. He speaks his mind. I have to admire that and I’m sure the Phillies management appreciates it. Just hope that they don’t screw him. That would not be good.

  3. Michael Schaffer March 3, 2012 at 6:29 am #

    Knowing Shane as well as we do in Philly I don’t doubt him for a second. My admiration for him continues to soar. Considering almost every player I could think of is looking for the biggest payday possible and moving teams doesn’t seem to be a concern. Having Shane make this statement says so much. Too bad the Ramirezes, Fielders, etc can’t learn from him. The almighty dollar has lured most of our talent outta town for so many years perhaps there is a change in the air. Playing in Philly, having the relationship with both the team and fans obviously has been good to him and us as well. This is something all the Yankee fans and players will never understand along with the rest of the league. However if Shane contradicts himself later and heads to St. Louis or another hated team he will have the wrath of scorned Philly fans nationwide. Still highly doubt that will happen. It would be nice to have an All-Star play his career and retire here for once. Think Schmidtty was the last Philly to accomplish that.

    • Phanatic Addict March 5, 2012 at 7:11 pm #

      I’d love for him to be here, too. I’m not exactly sure a long term deal is in the cards for him. There are a lot of guys with a lot of money tied to them in Philadelphia. I guess they just know that they don’t need to make a decision with him just yet, so they’ll probably ride out the season before doing anything. Hamels is the primary person they need to work out anyway.

      Hope you’re well Michael.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Victorino: “I Want to Be Here.” | PhilaPhans – Philadelphia Sports Blogs – Forums – Message Board - February 29, 2012

    […] The rest is here: Victorino: “I Want to Be Here.” […]

Leave a Reply

