Missing J-Dub?

21 Jun

There has been plenty of chatter this season about adding a right handed bat to the lineup so just for fun I thought that I’d update you on the progress of our bearded buddy in D.C.

It hasn’t been an easy road for Jayson since he’s gone to the Nats. You could say that he’s gone south in more then one way.

Jayson is batting .232 with 10 homers, 27 RBI and a .742 OPS. He’s riding a .332 on base percentage. He appears statistically be headed towards an a career low in just about every statistical category.

He doesn’t play the same position, but let’s compare him to Raul Ibanez who has been disappointing us pretty much all season. Raul is batting .243 with 8 homers, 32 RBI and a .292 OBP. He’s got a .693 OPS.

Sure Raul has a little more going for him with the RBI’s because of a slightly more productive lineup in front of him, but it would be hard to argue that Werth is having much of a better season then Ibanez who has been struggling.

In the long run Werth is going to produce, and Ibanez is coming closer to the end of the career.

The Phillies don’t have a lot of options when it comes to making a trade for another bat becuase they have basically pocket change to work with when it comes to money. I’llexamine a few of their options later this week.

6 Responses to “Missing J-Dub?”

  1. mlblogsbarbward June 21, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    Do I have to answer that question personally? I think that you know the answer. Never in my love for baseball have I followed any other team avidly as I do the Phils…. until this season. I now follow the Nats and more specifically Werth. It’s a big fat transition for him moving to this team. Transitions and getting comfortable with a new environment and the people in it are never easy. I’ve thought often about this and wonder how he’s affected by this. I don’t know why he chose the route of money as opposed to staying on a winning team but, alas, it was his choice. I think that he’s making every effort to fit it and make his mark. I think that he was tired of being an afterthought by the Phils management and he wanted to go some place where he can be a frontrunner and make his mark on the field and on the team. Looks to me as if he’s trying to do so in Washington. We shall see. He’s got a lot of time in order to do so.

    • Phanatic Addict June 21, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

      You’re right. He has plenty of time to do so.

      Do you really think the Phillies over looked his value? I don’t. I think they wanted to keep him but his value on the open market was so much more because teams are so willing to over pay.

      I’m not saying he’s a bad player, but I don’t think he’s worth the insane money he got from the Nationals.

      • mlblogsbarbward June 21, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

        I think that he was definitely overshadowed by Utley and Howard. I think that his pride was hurt by the early extension of Howards contract. That’s why he switched agents and obtained Boras. He wanted to make a point. He played with fire and made a deal with the devil(Boras). I definitely don’t think he’s worth the money that he got but I don’t think any player is worth that money. I don’t even think Howard is worth that money that he gets.All of this is pure speculation on my part and my own personal hunch about it. I don’t think that I’m wrong though. I can feel it in my gut.

      • Phanatic Addict June 21, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

        We’re going to just have to agree to disagree. I dig Howard’s deal, and think it will pay off.

        I don’t get wrapped up in players feelings. He’s a big boy and it’s a business. If he got his feelings hurt then oh well. By signing with Boras he basically out-priced himself to the phillies. He did that in the middle of the season, and didn’t give the Phils many options.

        Mike

  2. mlblogsbarbward June 21, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    Deal 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Missing J-Dub? | Phillies Clubhouse - June 21, 2011

    […] Missing J-Dub? […]

Leave a Reply

